Thursday, 16 July 2015


Rt. Hon. Chief Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, Governor, Enugu State
Information at the kitty of Tectono has it that the Enugu State House of Assembly has confirmed all the 24 commissioner nominees forwarded to the assembly by the governor, Rt. Hon. Chief Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi. Has this ever happened in the history of Enugu State? During the reigns of Hon. Abel Chukwu and Hon. Eugene Odo as speakers, many commissioner nominees were disqualified.

Tectono gathered that while screening the nominees during plenary, they were asked questions on their courses of study, profession, experience and on how they would contribute to reposition Enugu State. We need to know the qualifications, levels of intelligence and exposure of the current members of Enugu State House of Assembly.

The screening lasted for over five hours and featured two former members of the House of Representatives, Ambassador Fidel Ayogu, Hon. Princess Peace Nnaji and Chief Hon. Chijioke Edeoga, who were asked to take a bow and leave owing to the fact that out of intimidation, none of the Enugu legislators knew what to ask them. Alu!!!

We learnt that after the screening, the Leader of the house, Hon. Ikechukwu Ezeugwu (PDP-Udenu), said: “Having answered most of the questions correctly, attempted some and with their experiences, levels of education, contributions to our party, their community and the state, when confirmed, they will do us proud. Mr. Speaker, honourable colleagues, l hereby move that the commissioner-nominees be confirmed.”

While ruling, the Speaker, Hon. Edward Ubosi, directed the Clerk, Mr. Christopher Chkwurah, to communicate Governor Ugwuanyi of the confirmation of all the nominees.